Bellmore Congregation History

In 1838 property for a church building in Newbridge (now Bellmore) was purchased for $100 by the "Trustees of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Hempstead South, or Merrick."  The parcel lay on the north side of South Oysterbay Turnpike Road (current-day Merrick Road) where Ace Hardware is today.  A year later, in June 1839 these trustees incorporated the Methodist Episcopal Church of Newbridge  The congregation has occupied three buildings - the first is pictured left, after its expansion in 1884.  The second building, constructed in 1912, is located on the corner of Royle Street and St Marks Avenue and is still in use by the church as our chapel.  The third and current Sanctuary building, on  Clarendon Avenue, was built in 1958.  Click Here or the photograph at left to learn more about our rich history.

United Methodist Church History

John Wesley Information about the founder of Methodism, his brother, Charles, and other members of the Wesley family.
Wesley's Short History of Methodism John Wesley's explanation of Methodism to the people of his time.
History of the Church A brief history presented in seven time periods starting with 1736-1816 and ending with 1968-Present.
200 Years of United Methodism A history starting with the "Christmas Conference" in 1784 containing 128 illustrations.  Published in 1984.
The Evangelical United Brethren The Evangelical United Brethren Church merged with the Methodist Church on April 23, 1968.